ZRL

Nothing planned for the moment

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Cavs song with Proph/ GV Artwork

today i headed out to meet with Proph The Problem to mess around with this Cavs Playoffs song that weve been asked to do... went pretty good... i got to mess around with a Korg Oasys... which was dope!! shout out to George Vlosich! still got more to do with the track, but we got off o a great start today so far

heres a video from today:


shout to Greg Vlosich who did the artwork in the video, heres one of Kanye he did

hes dope aint he! make sure u check out his artwork at http://www.gvartwork.com/
and check out Proph over at http://www.prophtheproblem.blogspot.com/

Monday, March 30, 2009

Dope

im a big supporter of people... when anyone from the city or people i know start doin big things, i wanna always do as much as i can to support (as u know from my SpotLight posts)

so when Kid Cudi did the mixtape with 10DEEP, i bought one of there shirts they made for Cudi, and i got his mixtape for free...
well i just stumbled accross this new shirt that Lunar Landing made for Cudis new song produced by Kanye called "Sky Might Fall"...
im ordering it now, its dope... check it out!


and check out the site to buy it:
http://www.lunarlandingapparel.com/

crowd control

Jesty Beatz rockin in BGSU

blessed...

i just thought about this last night... sure my vacation went to hell the last couple days and it kinda ruined the trip a lil bit, but i should be thankful...

ive been looking at Full Sail for like the past 3 years, ive always wanted to at least travel down to florida and check it out, and i never did... but i finaly got to do it, sure alot of bullshit happened... but the point is, i feel like i took that step to better my life and go back to school...

thanks to lena for pushin me to do it

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Proph Juice... *pause*

haha this motherfucker be killin me...

Back from the 305


well as u already know... im finaly back from my interesting vacation to Miami... It was dope at 1st and then it all kinda went to hell the last 2 days...

well me and my girl drove down there... we left at 1:40pm on friday and arrived at The Howard Johnson on South Beach around 9:00am on sat... it was a long drive, but we kept ourselves awake. check in was at 3, so we got to drive around miami and get sum food at ihop b4 we finaly got to check in... check out our room...
it was dope, we had a nice lil deck to sit out on and drink, and then the beach was right behind our hotel... the hotel was on 87th and Collins, so it wasnt ware shit was poppin off in Miami... that was more south, so the beach was pretty much dead.

we went to the Miami Zoo while we were down there... alot bigger than clevelands...

oh and side note, anyone reading this thats been to recently or lives in the southern Florida area... i see these fuckin billboards everywhere!!! ...more like the money u coulda saved from buyin all these billboards!! me n lena counted 13 on our drive up to Winterpark alone!

while we were in miami we also checked out a Heat game against the Grizzlies... the game was coo, i ended up gettin drunk, cuz the fans were soooo lame and boring... im so used to Cavs fans and bein at Cavs games, and just seein how empty there crowd was kinda blew my mind! shit was cool tho, we had decent seats...

well here is when the trip turns for the worst... on weds we drove up to Winterpark Florida to visit the school im interested in goin to called Full Sail... its right outside Orlando... the school was so raw, we took a lil tour and shit, i was all pumped up to go there... so on our drive back down to Miami... BOOM! ... my car just stops working... so thank God lena has AAA... so we called them and had to get the car towed to a Tires Plus in Vero Beach... they were closed already so we had to get a room at a Travel Lodge right down the street... the next mornin we dropped the keys off and the guy at Tires Plus said it might be the fuel pump thats fucked up but it might just be that a bunch of wires and plugs and an air filter are fucked up... now the fuel pump is covered by my warrenty... the other shit wasnt... so i had to come out of pocket and pay for that shit... while they were fixin it, we ran into best buy and played sum Wii...

... we get back to the shop and the guy says that the car works and we wont need to do anything to the fuel pump... so we leave Vero Beach and make our way back down to Miami... cuz this is when the Winter Music Conference is goin on and we already missed the 1st night of it, and we had to get down there tonite to kick it with Quincy and Cali Miles, and pass out fliers and CDs... so an hour into driving... BOOM!! ... car stops working again...

yeah dude... it fucking broke down again!!! so long story short we called AAA again, waited for an hour for the tow truck guy on the side of the turnpike, got it towed to anouther Tires Plus, they find out it was the fuel pump!!! they cant fix it that night, so thank God my grandparents were stayin down in Naples Florida and they drove all the way out to Coral Springs picked us up and drove us back down to our hotel in miami, cuz we had to check out the next morning and cuz i had no more money to get anouther hotel in Coral Springs...

sidenote again check out Miamis online dating service...

hahah that shit kills me.... anyways, the next mornin we check out on like 5 hours of sleep, have to get a cab to drive us back up to my car... they end up fixin it for free cuz of my warenty and i got half of my money back from the other Tires Plus visit... so that was good...

it was alot more to the story, good and bad, but ill tell u that when i see ya!! but in a nutshell, that was it! now im back home and its back to business!!! time to drink sum Polish Vodka!!

Friday, March 20, 2009

IM IN MIAMI BIIIITCH!

if you are readin this... im in Miami right now partying, checkin out schools, and the winter music conference... i put my Twitter updates at the top of the page so u can check out what im doin down there, since im not gonna be able to update my website til i get back on the 28th!

also here is a link to download Mick Boogie and Terry Urban present Soul Kryziz "Open for Business" (produced by Zup)... for all the people who know me, u know what it is... but to anyone new to my site, its the latest cd i produced... check it out, u wont be dissapointed!

http://www.mediafire.com/?mjdyzzmekvh



aight well ima bounce, i got alot of drivin to do... follow me on twitter!
until then...

Thursday, March 19, 2009

some pics from my photoshoot

I figured b4 i leave for Miami tomorrow, i might as well the pics Tracy from Traces of Me Photography sent me already... these arnt the edited ones... I'll upload those when i get back!





Wednesday, March 18, 2009

last min beat making

well im leavin for Miami in 2 days... and ive been runnin around like a chicken with its head cut off all week... i have no time for anything... but today i was listening to some songs today and they inspired me to go down stairs n fuck around with a beat... i made the drums, and they came out raw... then i used this small pizza box with $15 of change in it to add shakers to the beat, haha... and then i decided to turn the camera on...

so heres the video of me addin brass to it... and yes i am rockin a fun-n-stuff shirt from way back when i used to work there! (damn now that i think about it, fun-n-stuff was the shit when i was in gradeschool) anyways, heres the video...

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

ITS ABOUT TIME I START BEIN REAL....


so i was on the phone with my girl a lil bit ago, just talkin to her and lookin thru my blogs n shit and i hit up Kid Cudis blog and i read this post about how he wants to quit the game cuz of what fame did to his life... and how hed rather be piss poor then have to deal with the shit hes dealin with now... so i got to talkin to lena about it... and i was thinkin how if i ever got famous, how i would never get a big head...

i look at it like this... the shit im goin thru now, is gonna be the same shit ima be goin thru when i get a name for myself... the only difference, instead of takin one of these cleveland rappers shit, ill be takin Busta Rhymes shit, haha u know what im sayin?

this blog is here to show u what its like to be a strugglin producer... and upload my lil videos and pics or whatever... and thats coo and shit, i love givin u guys a look behind the scenes... BUT i feel like im not lettin u know what really really goz down...

let me just break it down like this, and be 100% real... i dont remember the last time ive gotten paid for a beat....

....yeah, all the beats u hear people rockin over that ive produced have all been given for free... and u know what? thats my choice... ima cool, down to earth dude, im cool with that... well, was cool with that. u know what i get at least hmmmmm 4 times a day? a text from various diff rappers/ singers whoever asking "where my beat zup"? (now theres sum people that im workin on shit with who ask that... thats cool) but after a while that shit gets reeal fuckin annoying... u get what im sayin? here i am, givin u thousand dollar beats for free?? and ur askin me "where ur beat at"? come on now

its hard cuz, its a game u see... specialy here in cleveland... cuz if i dont give these beats away for free, no1 will buy them... cuz A, there "too good" to be paying... or B, cuz they have no money... and its shitty cuz the good ones are the ones who dont have money... its these garbage dudes who got all the money in the world... so thats where i put myself in a tough spot... either i sell this dope ass beat to this dope boy garbage rapper, or i give it away free to this amazing rapper, thats gooood, but prob wont do shit with it.

UGH!!! its shitty dude, 4 real... i really need to go to new york and just sit down with sum1 and show them what i got... i need to, i have to... i cant take this cleveland BS shit no more... theres no way that the shit im sittin on isnt good enuff for industry artists... i just need to do sumthin about it, like i said... i have to...

lena and i are goin to Miami in 3 days, and well be gone for a week... the winter music conference is goin on down there on south beach... so ima be bringin my shit down there n hopefully i run into sum1 important

im sorry for bitchin, but this blog is about bein real right?!?!?! ...aight then thanks 4 lettin me be real and thanks to my supporters

Monday, March 16, 2009

ProphTV

check out my homie Proph the Problem...

http://www.prophtheproblem.blogspot.com/

Soul Kryziz "1 4 U" (produced by Zup) on Rebel Army Radio


shout to my homie Zaire once again! "1 4 U" produced by me off Soul Kryziz's LP "Open for Business" is up on Rebel Army Radio... check it out!!

Saturday, March 14, 2009

photoshoot with Traces of Me Photography


this mornin i headed down to Kent State to take photos for my "25th Hour" promo... and it went real good... im not very good with photoshoots, i dont know how to move around very well... but anyways they came out dope... ima upload them when i get them.... until then check out a video from today with Tracy from Traces of Me Photography

Friday, March 13, 2009

...A great feeling


Yesterday i made that Z-Mix for Phoenix Jones... and this mornin, i listened to it again, and twerked sum things, and then i sent it to him to see what he thought. I was actually kinda thinkin he was gonna hate it... cuz the original producer was the legendary LT Moe, and the beat was sick... and my beats alot diff from the original, but it still goz hard as fuck, i love it actually... and i got the email back from P today, and he said i murdered it... so that feels great... The 25th Hour is on its way...

this weekend and next week up until thursday is gonna be grind time... I have to knock out a bunch of Z-Mixes cuz i leave for Miami on the 20th, and ill be gone for a week... so i wont be able to touch any music... so if i want this to be a April release, i need to bust my ass b4 i leave and when i come back

i live and breathe this shit man! LETS GET IT!

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Zup making a beat

well i got up early today, got done what i needed to do, so ive been makin beats all morning... just finished a Z-Mix of Phoenix Jones and then i started makin some beats... in the middle of makin this one beat i decided to get my camera and give u a lil taste... its nuffin spectacular cuz my computer ends up freezin towards the end so i had to cut the video short... i was pissed, but anyways... enjoy this dopeness

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

SPOTLIGHT: Heidi Lewandowski


every so often I'm gonna be doing these "Spotlight" posts... spotlighting people that i know, grew up with, or just respect doing big things!! so i start off by introducing you to actress/ model Heidi Lewandowski, a Cleveland native who resides in California... Heidi and I went to High School together and I'm very proud of her and all the hard work she has done... check her out


Zup:
What uuuuuuup Heidi? thanks for sittin down and takin time out to do this interview! Alot of people dont know but you and I went to the same highschool together, kicked it together, ran track together... You still running on your free time? and what was it like growin up in Cleveland?

Heidi:
Hey Zup!!!Yeah, we did. Yes, I am still running. I workout 6 days a week. Get it right, and keep it tight. haha. I run about 6 miles a day at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. Growing up in Cleveland I would have to say was the best place to be raised. Cleveland created my foundation and dedication in life. I have to say Cleveland will always be home and where my heart is.

Zup:
At what age did you realize that you wanted to pursue modeling? and what made you decide to leave Cleveland and move out to California to chase this dream?

Heidi:
Well, actually I am pursuing an acting career. When I was about 5 years old I told my parents that I wanted to be an actress, so I started to do community theater and small talent shows. My parents told me to wait until I finished high school so I did. I've always known that California was the place to go because it had the best opportunity for me and my dream.


Zup:
What are some things that you've grown to love about Cali that you cant live without now? If you had to leave there, whats the one thing you'd miss the most?

Heidi:
Some things I have grown to love about Cali that I can't live without would most definitely be the weather. I don't think it ever got cooler than 55 degrees all winter. I also love the fashion because you can rock absolutely anything as long as you do it with confidence. Another thing that I love is every single day there is always something for me to do to get one step closer to my ultimate goal.

Zup:
Now describe what you really do... Who are some people/ companys you have done work for?

Heidi:
Presently, I am pursuing my acting on all aspects from tv to film. I have done work on Disney Channel's Cory in the House, made appearances on CBS Moonlight, Young and the Restless, Bold and the Beautiful, shot a short film in Mexico and various other short films in LA, a Doritos spec commercial, a domestic violence PSA, hosted a kids talent show on cable television and I have done print jobs for various companies including Office Max and Phillips. I have also done modeling for award shows including the 2008 BET awards parties.


Zup:
Wow... now with those jobs , what was your most memerable experience? and what was your worst experience thus far?

Heidi:
My most memorable experience would have to be the short film I did in Mexico. It was an amazing experience from the locations to the people to the 4 am call times. I love staying busy! I honestly don't have a worst experience because I take everything as a learning experience and a transition needed for me to take the next steps toward my career.

Zup:
Thats def a good way to look at it! Now bein from Cleveland, how you feel about the Cavs this year? you think were are gonna take it all the way?

Heidi:
I am exceptionally excited about how well the Cavs are doing this year. Even though, I am in the center of the Lakers biggest fan base, I will always be a Cleveland native so I still rock LeBron's jersey. I get a few haters here and there, but people are learning that the Cavs definitely are earning their respect this year.

Zup:
now for the personal questions!! mmmmhmmmm yeeeeeah the juicy stuff!! haha very simple questions...

-are you dating anyone right now?
No, I am currently not dating anyone in particular but I am dating in general.

-fav place to eat?
My favorite place to eat is my mom's kitchen. I love a good old fashion home cooked meal; having been out here in Cali I don't get my mom's cooking too often.

-fav club?
My favorite club in Los Angeles is Social.

-fav spot in cleveland?
My favorite spot in Cleveland is kind of hard to choose because I was never old enough to club in Cleveland when I lived there. If I had to decide I would say Cadillac Ranch.

-fav spot in cali?
My favorite spot in Cali would be The Americana, which is an outdoor shopping area similar to Crocker Park, but of course I also love the beaches in Malibu.

-what u bumpin in your cd player or ipod right now?
I have a lot of hot tracks in my ipod right now, but I would have to say I'm really feeling Keri Hilson and Jamie Foxx right now.


Zup:
OK heidi, i wont take anymore of your time... one last thing tho before you go... what advice do you have for any aspireing models/ actresses?

Heidi:
On a final note, the best advice I could give to other aspiring actresses/models would be always pursue your dreams; whatever you have the desire to do YOU CAN DO with hard work, persistence, dedication, and faith in God.

Zup:
Thanks again Heidi, you are an inspiration to me, your proof that if you set your mind on somthing, you can get it! and ima make sure I plan a trip out to Cali to come visit you real soon!

Heidi:
Thanks Brett and sending all my love to my hometown Cleveland.

Shark Attack!

this weekend i ventured down to Cinci once again... went and saw The Watchmen, shit was dope!! and we also hit up the Aquarium in New Port... fuck with this shit right here!



that shits scary as fluck aint it?

if u listen clearly, u can almost hear the white trash in the backround....

www.HipHopForNerds.com March Mix-Up (created by Zup)

Tracklist:
1.) Maino feat. T-Pain - All The Above
2.) Lil Wayne - Prom Queen
3.) Keri Hilson - Control Me
4.) Trey Songz - Brand New
5.) 2 Pistols feat. C-Ride - Lights Low pt. 2
6.) Drake - Congratulations
7.) Camron - I Used To Get It In Ohio
8.) Rick Ross - Mafia Music
9.) 50 Cent - Officer Ricky
10.) Copywrite - The Fake Slim Shady (COLUMBUS)
11.) Asher Roth - Silly Boy
12.) Rihanna - Hatin On The Club
13.) Drake feat. Lloyd - A Night Off
14.) Jeremih - Birthday Sex
15.) Tynisha Keli - I Wish You Loved Me
16.) Kid Cudi - Sky Might Fall (CLEVELAND)
17.) Kanye West & T-Pain - Flight School
18.) Mr. 44 - Ask About Me (CLEVELAND)
19.) XV - Everybody’s Nobody
20.) Oh! So Spectacular - Chattin’ Wit Babes
21.) Kid Cudi - Can I Be (CLEVELAND)
22.) Noxtradamas - Who Am I (CLEVELAND)
23.) Bone Thugs-N-Harmony - The Game Ain’t Ready (CLEVELAND)

DOWNLOAD: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qmyfzbnncgz

Friday, March 6, 2009

Soul Kryziz after recording "Therapy"

heres a video of Soul and I after we finished recording "Therapy" (which u can hear in the media player to ur left) ... we were waitin in the other room while Think was mixin the track... i remember i was late as fuck to work this day... this was the last song we recorded for "Open for Business" and i had to send all the tracks to Terry Urban that night im pretty sure...

check it out!

Jesty Beatz is Famous season 2

well my man Jesty Beatz is back with his J Beatz is Famous video series... check it out, he just put this one up on his facebook today, its through MJKs eyes... toward the end of the video he performs the song i produced for him; "Break it Down"

check it out

Jesty Beatz is Famous Season 2: Episode 1 MJK's POV from Jesty Beatz on Vimeo.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

3 songs produced by Zup on Rebel Army Radios top 10 songs of March


shout out to Zaire and Rebel Army Radio... 3 of the 10 songs of March are produced by me... "Still Hungry" by Dras, Kayo, and Proph... "City of Light" by Soul Kryziz, and the #2 song of the month "Life Support" by Kayo!! go check em out!