ZRL

Nothing planned for the moment

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

is music these days really that bad?


On Halloween this year i will be "Re-Releasing" my 1st cd i ever put out called "Monster Mixtape vol 1" ... me and my boys put this out when we were in highschool almost 9 yrs ago... its crazy how time has passed and how much better ive gotten!!

well with the release of that mixtape, it got me thinkin about highschool, and all the music i listened to... i was bumpin southern music all day, like paul wall, chamillionaire, lil flip, three 6 mafia, pastor troy, lil jon, archie eversole, cash money, ying yang twins... all that. i mean dont get me wrong, i had jay-z, nas, jojo pellegrino in my tape deck as well... but it got me thinking... like, damn, i sure listened to alot of bass heavy, cappin type music... and it made me think maybe the music these highschool kids r bumpin now is the same shit i was bumpin back when i was there age, but i cant hear it cuz im grown up now...

i just dont think comparing gucci to pastor troy is even fair... i just feel like music back then was all about havin fun in the club n shit, but it was done in a diff way then it is now...

what do u think? do u think that music back between 2000 to 2004 is better or the same thing as music now?

4 comments:

  1. music isn't that bad. theres so much music out there and that is being made that ppl arent aware of. if ppl arent happy they should search for something else haha.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Well Paul Wall and lil flip are about as shitty as they come but no industry rap is just as shitty now as it was then

    ReplyDelete
  3. i dont think there's anything wrong with music today. the problem lies in the marketing machine which is not geared to satisfy anyone or anything other than the labels finances. For every artist and/or subgenre of hiphop there is a fanbase. Hip hop began in the park in the bronx. it was about people having fun then. i dont see any issues with it now. i dont listen to every gucci record thats out.. but when im at a club i dont want to listen to ultra though provoking music. Balance is good. all music is dope

    ReplyDelete
  4. Isn't it crazy that some of the Artists we listened to back in highchool, are still making music now?

    I agree, I don't think there is anything wrong with music today...Actually I get tired of people bitching about music now and how it's nothing like it was. Time's changing, if people don't like the music today they should just not listen to it and shut the eff up.

    I love ya'll! No Homo!

    -Mountain Due AKA JayDue

    ReplyDelete